I Don’t Miss A Thing

outrunforkI’ve had people tell me that they wouldn’t be able to follow a plan like Whole30. To each person who has said that I have responded, “Yes, you can.” Because we, as a people, have allowed ourselves to be perfectly ok with full-time junk to fuel our body (no judging here–I was really good at it), we feel like we just can’t live without all of the things that we THINK we enjoy.

I remember making all types of decedent desserts. Many people purchased them from me when I was baking from home. I was a really good baker and very creative with sugar, flour, and CHOCOLATE. There were many of them that I would indulge in myself, so yeah, I get it. Are you kidding? You had to find someone to make it for you. I was able to make it for myself, and I did–way too much. I realized this was not a healthy profession for me.

Having a low tolerance to sugar and flour, I didn’t need to be consuming it regularly. I was tired of feeling the way I was feeling, so when I read that Whole30 was only a 30 day program, I said, I CAN DO ANYTHING FOR 30 DAYS. I didn’t know what that was going to mean for my baking business. I thought I would just slowly add things back and be in control of it enough to continue, but Christmas proved that wasn’t the case. I wanted to get healthy and feel proud of my accomplishment. I did just that!

So Margie, why are you still eating Whole30? Well, I’m not eating COMPLETELY Whole30. If this were my 1st Whole30 attempt, there would still be things I would be cutting out (although very little). I guess the short answer is that I don’t see any reason to add any of the things I eliminated back. I don’t miss it, so why add it back? Does it mean I will NEVER eat dairy, rice, flour, sugar, legumes or soy ever again? No, it doesn’t. It means that I will not make a place for those things in my home. It’s like vacationing with family. You love to visit, but you don’t really want to live there.

My home is a nutritionally safe place for my entire family now, and I intend for it to stay that way. Why would I want to change that? If I want ice cream, then we’ll make a choice of what type we want to have and have some, but it won’t be in my freezer at home, nor will it be consumed on a regular basis. What is really great is that even though we have allowed ourselves those choices, we seldom make them.Β When we do, we’re like, “well that was ok, but it wasn’t really all that great.” Our taste buds have changed, and yours would, too. You’ll give up things you thought you couldn’t live without and add things you never thought you liked. I’m serious!

You never think you can do without something until you do without it. A cell phone. Internet. Cable. Junk food. It’s all the same. Things that we have developed obsessions over. I’m glad that I’ve broken that obsession. The program helps you eliminate “snacks” and “grazing.” I personally needed longer than 30 days, but you may not. Some people do just 30 days and find perfect balance like the maker’s of the program. I’m sure it has a lot to do with just how deep you are in that obsession. I was pretty far.

So, don’t close your mind to the idea. It is by far the simplest program to follow. It is free. I do highly recommend their book because it totally explains why everything does start with food. If you take medication for things like high blood pressure, Type II diabetes, thyroid disorders, hormone imbalances, then you are spending a lot of money to provide medication that allows you to continue eating the way you do. You’ll be surprised how awesome you feel, and how your numbers will find their healthy place, eliminating your need for medication and saving you money.

If you suffer with auto-immune disorders, there have been rave reviews from people who are managing MS and others with this program. Really…30 days…you can do anything for 30 days, right?? A serious, true effort. If it does nothing for you, then hey, there are fast food places all around. Knock yourself out, but don’t knock it until you try it. I really think you are going to be very surprised and will feel like me–why add back what you don’t miss?

I am available to help you. If you live in the Waycross/Blackshear area, I am happy to meet with you to discuss this program further. I will also be offering other services (regardless of your nutrition program) on a fee basis such as meal prep coaching (in your kitchen), healthy shopping (what to buy/what to avoid–this is an in-store service), and development of behavior modification plans (for those who have long standing habits that need to be eliminated). These services can be one-time services or ongoing at your discretion. See me as your partner in the pursuit of improved health. We’re on the same journey! NOTE: Online coaching is also an option for those outside my area. Message me for more information.

The next 30 days will pass regardless–what would you like to have accomplished in that time frame?

4 thoughts on “I Don’t Miss A Thing

  1. This is a great post. I’m so happy Whole30 works for you! I’ve been taking that mentality that I can do anything for 30 days, and I have lost 10 pounds since April 1st.

    I also think it’s great you are offering so many services to other people! Good luck and keep going!!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you!! I am so proud of you! You’ve been doing great taking control. As for Whole30, it helped me enjoy food without allowing food to control me. I know there are people out there reading this blog who are just like me. Hiding behind food, looking for comfort in it and feeling guilty and defeated for doing so. I was desperate. Lost. Whole30 isn’t something that just “works.” It’s the food that works. It’s the elimination that works to balance those hormones impacted by food so I am able to think logically. Most people need to go through this program because they think that this is a diet just because It is healthy. When did that happen? When did junk food become the dietary norm making anything healthy look like a “diet?” Think about that. That perspective is all wrong, and it’s wrong because people are living in a hormonal junk food fog. Kind of like Oz…pay no attention to the man whacking out your hormones. I better be careful — the flying monkeys may come get me. They are scary! πŸ˜‰ Seriously though, much of the population is living in denial (not everyone but those who live off of junk) just like I once was. The awesome thing is that they can change that within just 30 days!! That’s pretty awesome!

      Like

  2. A friend of mine told me months ago that her family was doing Whole30, and she told me to try it with her. At the time I said “I don’t think I can do it…” Your post is making me want to give it another look at, and to believe in myself that I can do it if I put my mind to it!. so thanks!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awesome!! You CAN do it! Once you get past week 1, you are home free and will not believe that it was so easy!! Check out the link “What to expect” on the Whole30.com website. You can check out the post I wrote on having a successful Whole30 under the category Whole30 on my blog. Keep in touch! I’d love to hear more about your experience, and if you need info, advice, or motivation, just let me know.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

