Giving Thanks for a Successful Thanksgiving

I didn’t have to prepare much for Thanksgiving for my own family this year. We spent Thanksgiving with my grannie and extended family. I made lemon bars, fortunately, not a vice of mine. One bar was enough for me.

It was actually surviving the day without completely undoing any and all work I have been doing to lose weight that I am happy about. I am down 6.1 lbs for the past 2 weeks, and I am wanting to keep that momentum up. If you notice my little statement at the top left of my blog, you’ll see that when I started this journey, I weighed what…317? and then there’s a note increasing that number to a minimum of 330 because I didn’t really know what I weighed since Wii doesn’t go over 330. Apparently, it wasn’t much over because the next week I was back in business. I think that was the best experience EVER! It totally got my attention.

Well, my weight is almost back to that starting point. This week’s weigh in (that I need to update in the widget) was 319.9. Just 2.9 pounds, no make that 3 lbs because I want to be UNDER what I was when I started. If that takes 2 weeks, then that is fine, but it IS going to happen and I WILL keep going with losses EVERY WEEK there after. That is my goal! A minimum of 1 lb per week.

So, I went into this Thanksgiving with a strong mind. I would find my favorite things and stay away from triggers. I didn’t feel any “trigger” this year. Very nice! I didn’t overeat. I am very proud to say that. My calories probably went over my goal for the day just because I have no idea what my family puts in their food, but I was ok with going over this one day, as long as I ate good things and not all junk. I had string bean casserole (2 portions), dressing (2 portions), greens (they were very good), a little turkey, a taste of chicken and dumplings (which could have been a downfall but they weren’t seasoned the way I make them), and I ate about 1/2 of my plate and gave the rest to my husband. Oh yeah, a deviled egg mixture and one of my lemon bars (I stayed away from the coconut cake and the oreo cookie cake). Water to drink–in in the presence of 100% tea drinkers. (my #1 downfall in drinks–southern sweet tea!) A total victory!

Thanksgiving was 100 days of water only drinking. WOOHOO!!! And I can definitely tell a difference. I feel good. I’m not nearly as tired as I used to be. I actually even have a hard time going to sleep at night. I just need to put that energy to work. Well, I just wanted to share with you how things went yesterday. I hope your day was a victory for you, too. I am hoping for great news on Monday. I will try to report back then.

Leave a Reply

