How to Survive Morbid Obesity: An Introduction

How to survive morbid obesity? Written by a morbidly obese woman, interesting huh? Well, if there is someone who knows how to survive being morbidly obese, wouldn’t you expect the information to come from someone who has indeed survived living morbidly obese? Yeah. I think so.

Trust me, my advice isn’t going to be how to stay morbidly obese. There are things you can do to increase the chances that you won’t die from morbid obesity or the problems related to it. Yes, you read that right. I decided that I need to stop using the phrase, “live with morbid obesity” because in reality, the likelihood we will live grows less and less each day that we permit ourselves to be morbidly obese. SO, we want to make changes NOW that will ensure when we die that we aren’t morbidly obese. My hope is that ensuring that we die at a healthier weight will mean that we lived longer, happier, and healthier as well. Let’s get this picture right in our head. REALITY! Be sure the picture in your head is of reality. Be honest with yourself. It isn’t easy, but it is necessary.

So, it’s been a little quiet on the blog front, but that’s my fault. Maybe I should see if a couple of the ladies in our group would like to help write for this blog. It would definitely help. I’ll see what they have to say about that. Anyway, our group has grown and then decreased in size. We added two additional members, but I don’t think they were quite ready for our group. As a requirement of membership, active participation is a must. We share very private thoughts and fears, and it is really important for everyone to be equally as invested in such a program. We are back to four (4) members. These ladies are ready!

We have seen a little success in weight loss, and then have seen some ping pong back and forth 2 lb gain, 2 lb loss, or even staying the same. When you have over 100 lbs to lose, there are A LOT of behavior issues to deal with, and we are approaching those head on. It IS NOT an easy process. Much like any addiction, addiction to food for whatever reason (comfort, enjoyment, fear, anger, and a number of other reasons) can be paralyzing to a person’s life. If they feel that no matter what they do the result is the same, then they learn to be helpless. I’ve been there. I understand the difficulty! If it wasn’t for this group of ladies, today, I might have been there again. At the end of my rope, morbidly obese, and wanting to just give up on it all.

So what happened today? Even though I have been struggling since 08/05/2013 to lose weight, I have instead GAINED WEIGHT! I lost a little. Then my weight went up (which reminds me, I need to update my weight widget on the side menu). Today, however, was worse than any other time in the past. TODAY, my Wii was even more rude that usual. Yeah, it always tells me, YOU’RE REALLY FAT AND NEED TO LOSE WEIGHT (ok, well not in those terms, but it does tell me that–suggesting a healthy weight for me to be 119.5 HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA). Well, today it told me that my weight had (IN RED FONT) exceeded Wii’s weight maximum which is 330 lbs. So, I don’t even know what I weigh now. I could weigh 330 or I could weigh a little more. I totally don’t understand how with the changes that I’ve been making, but I can be honest and say, my changes haven’t been severe enough because my food choices are still regular choices, although I am only drinking water (34 days straight so far approx 125 oz a day and no junk food, but I did allow ice cream–isn’t it in a class of it’s own? and I also allowed sweets that I make from scratch, which I did just once.

So here I am. I don’t know what I weigh. By next week, I will or someone will need to come help pull me off of the ceiling. So is this it? Is this the end of the rope for me? Is it my wits end? Yes, I do think so.

Read my next post to see what I plan to do about it.  This was an introduction to how to survive being morbidly obese. You will want to follow this series if you are morbidly obese (or perhaps you love someone who is and you want to help them).

2 thoughts on “How to Survive Morbid Obesity: An Introduction

  1. Pingback: How to Accept Need for Change : Create a Written Plan & Post It | Two for One

  2. Pingback: Update on this journey | anotherweightlossquest

Leave a Reply

