What’s My Size?

I don’t know a woman in the world who truly knows what her size is. If you go to one store, it’s one number. If you go to another store, it’s a different number. Some people believe that clothes are labeled with a lower size because women will want to be in denial and purchase the dress just so they can say they wear a smaller size. Maybe we are part of the problem.

It is truly sad that some people will squeeze themselves into clothes too small and too tight, all so they can say that they are a smaller size, or because they refuse to go to a higher size. I guess I am one of those people. Now, I don’t wear clothes that are skin tight, but I have reached that point in my jeans where I have said, “I’M NOT GOING ANY FURTHER!” I thought I might have reached a point where, for comfort sake, I would go to a new size until I lose weight. This is the story of that venture.

I guess I was asking for it. I was shopping at Wal-Mart. Hey, there is nothing wrong with buying your clothes at Wal-Mart, especially when you’re trying to watch your finances. The two brands there are Lee and Just My Size (which is not my size). The jeans I am wearing now (grant it a CATO Plus brand, women will understand that, well worn, and a flexible denim fabric) are a size 24W. The jeans pull across my belly to the point the zipper needs some repair, and I have to wear a blouse long enough to cover the zipper because it just looks odd. I have tried jeans in that same size again, and they don’t fit. At Wal-Mart, I even went to a size 26W. The Lee brand was a definite loser. The Just My Size brand was at least one size too small. There were no 28W to try on (even typing that number freaks me out).

I put the jeans back and decided I would go back to CATO Plus on another day and try a larger size there. I have even considered waiting until I lose one size and can fit into the 26W before buying a new pair. Maybe I shouldn’t give in to the larger size at this point. The uncomfortable pants do remind me that I need to continue to be diligent on my journey. What do you think? Do you think I should use this as a motivator? Maybe I should make buying a new pair of jeans a reward when I can buy an appropriate fitting 24W.

Self contemplation: How have I let myself get here? What in the world was so interesting that my attention was off of myself long enough to get here? I will consider those questions for a future post.

2 thoughts on “What’s My Size?

  1. I say make do with what you have with anticipation of leaving the 24W far behind. With each size increase we have reached the place we are now trying to retreat from. I would only buy a larger size for covering if I literally could not get into my clothes. Everyday that you live your changed lifestyle you will drop fat thus weight. Sometimes it seems invisible but as the weight seemed to appear in a day it will disappear. Of course, it doesn’t disappear as quickly as it seemed to appear. Number one goal: don’t think about food and losing weight 24/7.

    Like

    • Now, THAT is a goal to aspire to. I’m not sure how to do that. I guess if I go out in my garden and work, I will be thinking of food in a different way. I will be thinking of it in a technical, am I growing it right, way. I feel like if I stop thinking about food/losing weight 24/7, then I will lose focus and gain. That is how it is for me it seems…ALL OR NOTHING! I wish I wasn’t that way!

      Like

Leave a Reply

