The Starting Point…

Body mass index chart

Body mass index chart (Photo credit: IITA Image Library)

I was thinking maybe my starting point wasn’t all that clear, so I want to be sure to make it clear. I’ll just be simple in my explanation. Although, I REALLY hate seeing this in print.

I currently weigh 317 pounds; 58.0 BMI.

When I was trying to find out how much I need to lose, I just divided that number in 1/2. 158.50 pounds is what I was left with. Well, I was curious to see what body mass index (BMI) that would be. The BMI is what health professionals use to determine if you are in a healthy weight range. This is the graphic I posted on my first post. If I lost 1/2 of my weight, my BMI would be 28.9 which is just 1.5 points away from being “obese.” Do you read this the way I do? Even losing 1/2 the weight, I would STILL be considered nearly obese.

According to the National Institute on Health, I need to weigh no more than 136 pounds to be considered “Normal” weight. The BMI for this weight is 24.9. I am sharing all of those numbers with you because as I lose, I will not only be keeping up with weight loss, but also BMI. So I need to lose 181 pounds in order to get there.

Wow. For some reason, after typing those numbers and sitting here looking over them, I don’t feel panic. I actually feel at peace. I don’t know if that’s the calm before the storm, or if I am truly ready for battle. I will own this and say, I AM READY FOR BATTLE! If I had a shot gun in hand right now, this is where it would go CLICK, CLICK!!!!! Bring it on!

5 thoughts on “The Starting Point…

  1. Interesting info. However, for me, looking at my BMI and my pounds lost, would be focusing on numbers that came from whoever rather than focusing on what I am putting in my body and being productive in my life. If I put good food in proper quantities in my body and live my life keeping active, doing the things I need to do like working in my house, yard, and garden, going for walks to move not to reach a number, I believe I will see and feel results. If I focus on the numbers, my life will be controlled by those numbers and I will spend my time keeping up with numbers rather than living my life, and in time will bring me full circle.

    I need to clear my mind of my old thought process and move forward. Circles never end.

    Like

    • I used to have a real problem with the numbers, but now, the numbers help me know that I am heading in the right direction. Used to, I would just “go with the way my clothes feel,” but right now, they are feeling tight. 🙂 It just isn’t effective. Not for me at least. The problem for me is that I gain weight evenly over my body it seems. Not really a bad problem except that once I do get to a point when my clothes are tight, I’ve gained nearly 20 lbs or more. I need numbers to show me when I’m drifting. It’s a wake up call.

      Like

  2. You are brave to post this number for everyone to see. Its really hard to own that number, or it is for me. I want to get healthier and want to feel good, so I definitely need to really get motivated. I have lost 10 lbs and 28 inches since February 12. It has been a struggle. Seems like I take a lb off and put two on……diabetes and thyroid problems are part of my issues, and it makes it really hard to lose. I was told that I need to lose 69 lbs according to the Tanita scale, but that seems so unreachable at times. Supporting you through this journey!!

    Like

    • So do I! I can’t tell you how many times I have written “overweight,” but technically, I am way beyond overweight. In reality, I am even beyond obese. I am the even worse “morbidly obese.” I am hoping to change that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

